The 90 Day Novel Challenge: Section 1

Well, I have finally finished section one of the 90 Day Novel Challenge!   (I’m reading Alan Watt’s book, The 90 Day Novel: Unlock the Story Within as my guide).  This is my opinion so far.

I enjoy the brainstorming activities and the ideas about writing that Watt discusses.  To me, he is more of an artsy writer, and I need that right now.  Since changing my major to professional writing at UNA, I have been bombarded with rules and structure, so much so that I have forgotten how to play when I write.  Watt’s book is bringing me back to that.

 

Reading Progress:

So far, I am on day 8.  I should be on day 10, and I’ve been playing the catch-up game for the past few days.  I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS!  I’m getting burnt out on the brainstorming activities because instead of doing 6 a day, I’m up to 9+, which gets tiresome.  You need to give your subconscious rest after a while.  I’m determined to finish in 90 days, though, so I’m going to keep playing catch up until I reach where I’m supposed to be.  Then, I’m going to do my best not to get behind again, because I don’t want to give up on my challenge!

 

Writing Progress:

Technically, I haven’t written anything yet.  I’ve just been doing some serious brainstorming, which is exactly what Watt wants at this stage.  I have played with my ideas and have made some discoveries that I’m impressed with.  I’ve also started thinking about dilemmas versus challenges and about antagonists.  I have discovered that I usually do not have an antagonist (strange, huh?).  My antagonists are usually my main characters themselves.  I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not, but I’m going to trust it nonetheless and see what happens!  Don’t get me wrong, though.  I do have characters in my story that try to prevent the protagonist from achieving her goal, but they are not The Enemy or anything like that.  They are more like obstacles.

 

My Least Favorite Aspect:

The brainstorming activities.  I think it is because I’m behind, so I’m having to do an extra thirty minutes to an hour each day.  I am also anxious to start writing, but that doesn’t happen for another week or two, so all of the brainstorming is getting old.  But, I know that it is good for me to imagine as much as possible beforehand.  I also know that it is my own fault for getting two days behind!  (I’m not knocking Watt at all.  It is completely on me!).  Occasionally I will come upon a brainstorming activity that blows my mind and gives me excellent insight into my story, and those little gems keep me going!

 

I’ll let you know my progress again when I finish section 2!

7 thoughts on “The 90 Day Novel Challenge: Section 1”

What do you think?

