The 90 Day Novel Challenge: Section 2

Okay, so technically I was supposed to be finished with Section 2 a few days (erm, weeks…) ago.  I’m a bit behind, but I’m not unhappy about that, because I’m uncovering more aspects to the story with each day.  I feel like sacrificing a few extra days to brainstorm and outline will be worth it in the end, so I’m not worrying about that.

Also, I don’t think my being behind is going to push me back on the 90 day end goal, because I’m participating in July’s Camp NaNo.  So, I should have my first 50,000 words finished sooner rather than later!

However, I do have my review of Watt’s The 90 Day Novel Section 2 ready for you!

 

Reading Progress:

I’m still playing catch-up and I’m still a bit burnt out on the brainstorming exercises (again, because I’m behind!).  However, I have revamped my entire novel twice since my last post.  That means that I have been going back to brainstorm for my new protagonist as well as trying to do the daily exercises.  I have started skipping a few (shame on me!) and focusing on the ones that I feel are most important.  I do not suggest doing this, though, because each brainstorming activity reveals a bit more about the story.  So skipping means that there will likely be unnecessary emptiness.

Writing Progress:

I still haven’t written anything yet.  Technically, I could have started today, but I’m holding off so that I can start on July 1 when Camp NaNo begins.  In the mean time, I’m going to focus on those skipped brainstorming exercises!

My Least Favorite Aspect:

I’m not loving the brainstorming activities.  Sometimes I feel like I am void of creativity because it doesn’t take long for me to feel drained when I’m doing those activities.  They are helpful, though, and they are getting me back on the right track as far as creativity is concerned.    So, I guess it is a love/hate relationship right now.

2 thoughts on “The 90 Day Novel Challenge: Section 2”

What do you think?

