How I Got the Gig: Writing for EscapeWizard.com & WhatsCheaper.com

If you have visited my Freelance Writing Samples page, you will know that I write for two travel sites (EscapeWizard.com and WhatsCheaper.com).  I thought I would take a moment to explain how I got the gig and how you can find one, too.

In February, I left the nest and moved into an apartment.  I had more free time and I decided to pick up a few freelance gigs.  I started checking the classifieds in the local papers.  I also checked job sites like Monster.com and SnagAJob.com, but I didn’t find a single hit.

Living on my own meant that I needed furniture.  While searching for affordable pieces, I decided to check Craigslist.com.  I didn’t find the furniture I was looking for, but I did realize that Craigslist had positions posted for freelance writers!  Fancy that.

I should warn you that you have to weed through them a bit to find ones that pay (EscapeWizard.com and WhatsCheaper.com do not).

Within two months, I had applied to around 30 ads.  I applied for everything from resume writing to a standing columnist on business sites to a part-time blogging gig.   Several sites responded that I was  too inexperienced, that they had gone in a different direction, or they did not respond at all.  A few responses made me suspicious, so I ignored those.

Then, a great guy named Greg contacted me and invited me to write as the associate editor of both EscapeWizard.com and WhatsCheaper.com.  He told me that they could not pay me at this time, but that he would act as a sort of mentor and teach me all I needed to know about freelancing.  That was enough for me!  He trained me, and I was putting out two to three articles for him per month.

Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Beach

Since getting that gig, I have kept my eye on Craigslist.  The positions vary, so I usually skim through at least once a week.

Also, several sites will cooperate with freelancers from a distance, so it pays off to search various cities.  I discovered a site called Ad Hunt’r that allows users to search “all of Craigslist”.  So, you can enter your search terms (resume writer/blogger/freelance writer) and weed through all of the ads at once.

If you don’t have time to mess with Craigslist, there is another site called Freelance Writing Jobs that posts freelance writing positions each day.

Just be careful.  Remember that if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.  Also, you should never give out personal information if you are skeptical for any reason.  I bypass postings all the time because I’m a bit too wary about the information that they need.

Do you have tips about how to find freelance gigs for those starting out?

One thought on “How I Got the Gig: Writing for EscapeWizard.com & WhatsCheaper.com”

  1. I waѕ suggested tɦis website Ƅy my cousin. ӏ am not sսre whether this
    posst is written bby hiim аs no one ele know such detailed aƄoսt my trouble.

    ϒou’re incredible! Τhanks!

What do you think?

