Time Management Part 1

I’ve seen this tweet popping up everywhere, probably because it is a universal truth.  Our daily tasks aren’t hard individually, but managing them within a strict time frame is!

If you’re reading this, you are most likely bad at managing your time.  Don’t worry.  I’m bad at it, too.  In fact, part of my inspiration for writing this particular post stems from my own time management struggles.

Just the other day, a friend asked me what my weekly schedule is like. It was then that I realized that I have – literally – no spare time!  How can I be so busy?

That’s what sparked the idea for this post.  I know I’m probably not the only bad time manager, so I decided to share how I’ve been better managing it lately. I have come to realize something powerful.  I may be busy, but life is busy. So often I find myself saying, “when things slow down…” Do you say that, too? Well, I’ve come to realize something. Life doesn’t slow down until its too late to accomplish anything. I don’t want wait around and become a novelist when I’m ninety-five.  I want to be a novelist now.

Are you in this boat with me? Most of you probably are.

So, what do we do?

We find the time. We make the time. We do it for ourselves.

The only difference between a successful time manager and a bad time manager is the way that they treat themselves. Sure, I could spend the next few hours at school and go home and work on the church website. Then, I could do some homework and talk on the phone with the bride-to-be. But, in the morning I will still have a short story to write. In the morning, I will still have a synopsis to finish. In the morning, I will be no closer than I am now.

The absence of progression leads slowly to failure.

I tell you these things not because I felt the need to lay it on you.  Realizing this harsh truth helped me change my ways and better prioritize and manage my time.   So, plan your days and weeks carefully, because all time is limited and all time is precious.

*I know some of you were looking for a list of time management tips. Don’t be disappointed. I’m working on one, and it should be up by Friday.

Image courtesy of Salvatore Vuono / FreeDigitalPhotos.net.

3 thoughts on “Time Management Part 1”

  1. I think that part of managing our time wisely is having goals that have steps–each goal broken down into parts that can be accomplished each day. Because my daughter just started college, this is the advice I’ve given her. And she was the only one not up all Sunday night finishing all the homework. It’s not that she has less homework, but she broke it down into manageable pieces. Anything can be managed that way.

What do you think?

