She’s a Rebel, She’s a Saint…

NaNoWriMo is here!  Yay!

Only, I’m so swamped.  And I know.  There’s always time.  Its there, you just have to use it.  Yada, yada.  I’m pretty sure I’ve preached that sermon here at some point.  Yet, I feel the need to explain myself, make my excuses, whine a bit about the nonrenewable resource that is our time, and then get to my NaNoWriMo goal.  If you want to skip the whining bit, I’ve kindly organized this post using headings and my goals are at the bottom.

Let Me Explain Myself…

November is always a very busy time for me, with the holidays nearing, project deadlines approaching, etc.  This year, I’m taking the GRE and applying to grad schools.  I’ve also taken on a new freelance writing project and I’m working two part-time jobs at the same time.  I’m having a hard time balancing everything as it is without adding NaNoWriMo to the mix.

Excuses, Excuses…

I do want to participate, but I don’t feel confident that I could start a new novel this month with any success.   I do have other things that I need to be writing (erm, posts!).  So, I’m thinking about rebelling this year.

Would you like some cheese with that whine?

I’d like to think that this is the busiest November that I will have for a few years to come.  I have taken on a lot this semester.  The 12 hour class load is nothing to me.  It’s the two part-time jobs (I love them, don’t get me wrong!), the freelancing gigs, and my portfolio that are eating my time.  Let me just say that digging through every word I’ve written since I started college in ’09 to weed out the good, the bad and the ugly (most of it is ugly, if you’re curious) takes time.  Ample time.  But, it has to be done.  I have a few great professors who are helping me, which makes it much better.  But, it is still time consuming.

And, yet, I do not want to forgo NaNoWriMo.

Luckily, we can rebel.

My NaNoWriMo Goals

Since I have so many projects due in November, I’m going to use the word counts from those assignments to count toward my NaNo goal.  This will motivate me (and, trust me, I need it).  I will use the remaining amount of words (15,000 or so) to write blog posts and update the content here.  So, that means you will definitely be hearing more from me.  It also means I will have more motivation to work on homework.

What are your NaNo goals?

What do you think?

